from the

Gong 2032 album

video animation by


GONG - 2032

A rich and fresh sounding powerhouse of an album – the first time Steve Hillage recorded with Daevid Allen since 1974

Described as exhilarating, compelling and other worldly, “2032” is a new instalment that continues the Gong’s famous ‘Radio Gnome’ album trilogy which includes the milestone psychedelic progressive rock albums - “Flying Teapot” (1973), “Angel’s Egg” (1973), and “You” (1974).

The band line-up on the album includes Daevid Allen (guitar, lead vocal): Steve Hillage (lead guitar), Gilli Smyth (Space Whisper and poetry), Miquette Giraudy (synthesiser), Mike Howlett (bass), Chris Taylor (drums), and Theo Travis (sax and flute).

Special guest performances on some tracks include former Gong member Didier Malherbe (soprano sax, duduk, and flute) and Yuji Katsui (electric violin) of the Japanese progressive/psychedelic jam band Rovo.

Original Gong members Steve Hillage, Daevid Allen, Gilli Smyth and Miquette Giraudy, wrote the songs for “2032” when they were in Australia. The new album also grew out of the enthusiasm and fun the band experienced playing live together again. The album release was accompanied by an extensive tour of over 70 dates in 2009 and further 16 in 2010.

Together with the rest of the band, Daevid and Steve crafted an album that is a more than worthy successor to the legendary Radio Gnome trilogy that Gong released at their creative peak in the 70s. 2032 is the year that the Planet Gong makes full contact with the Planet Earth – and a major new chapter in the continually evolving Gong mythology,” says Daevid Allen.

Produced and engineered by Steve Hillage at A-Wave Studios, London, with additional production by Daevid Allen at Bananamoon Observatory in Australia.

The CD is housed in a triple-fold digi-pak with an illustrated 12 page booklet complete with all the lyrics which are interspersed with even more 'sound words of device' by Daevid and Gilli.


  • Daevid Allen (voice, guitar)
  • Steve Hillage (guitar)
  • Gilli Smyth (voice, space whisper)
  • Miquette Giraudy (synthesisers)
  • Mike Howlett (bass)
  • Chris Taylor (drums)
  • Theo Travis (sax, flute)

Special Guests:-

  • Didier Malherbe - duduk (tks 3 & 13) - soprano sax (8) - flute (4 &14)
  • Yuji Katsui - electric violin (tracks 4 & 11)
  • Elliet Mackrell - violin (track 6)
  • Stephanie Petrik - backing vocals (trks 1, 2, 3, 4, 6 &11)